Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
3 février 2008 7 03 /02 /février /2008 22:37

quelltheskies.jpg

2007/Autoproduction

3 songs : 15 mins 

1. Crown of Fire
2. Solitude
3. The Impostor


And here comes another band I discovered thanks to Myspace. And they are coming from Finland. This band as i first thought is one that should have been reviewed by my mate Sasha Disto because i am really sure that Quell The Skies is the real kind of band that kicks his ass, but anyway, the stuff is so good that i had to review them by myself. Ending with the personal notes, let’s begin with the musical aspect of the cd.

Well, let me begin with: “This band kills!”. They give us a very original type of death metal (the main style used) sometimes sounding a bit more deathcore and sometimes more atmospheric. Quell The Skies never falls into the trap of linearity and they manage to keep the listener’s attention throughout the whole tracks. We may say here, only three: such a pity!
The first track, “Crown of Fire”, with its very thrashy beginning riffs, reminds me a bit of some Six Feet Under, for the voice but also for the rhythms used. A little electro interlude reminding me of Diablerie comes and breaks the violence, "a bit odd", some might say, "but really original" I'd answer. After what a little jazzy moment filled with more hardcore vocals re-opens violence. With these kind of structures, the name of Lykathea Aflame comes to my mind. Not especially in the musical similarity but more in the originality. The whole is so headbangable! The twisted stuff offered here is really professional and the sound is really good. I think that several people should see their faces punched by this song (and by the whole cd). We can enjoy then a really good moment with “Crown of Fire”, and it goes on with “Solitude” that will please all brutal death freaks. Riffs are as agressive as melodic, the vocals varying from very guttural to hysterical moments (personal note: a bit in Mike Patton’s way at 1"15).
Some more atmospheric moments brought by the riffs remind me of the Australian band Alchemist. The work brought on the musical point of view is really amazing. The drummer is excellent, I am notably thinking about the little interlude that starts at 2"45 but on this moment we have the joy to hear that the guitarist also masters his instrument very well, excellent solo here. I have to admit that it was hard for me to have one favorite song in the whole stuff, but finally “Solitude” gained my favour.
What can I say about the ending track called “The Impostor”? You’ll say I am becoming too old if I am still saying that it kicks my ass. Must say it's a very insane track. Agressive in its whole, the deathcore moment innit a bit in All Shall Perish or Despised Icon way are really good. I also thought of our french  band Benighted by moments here. The use of keyboards tends to give a grim and a bit worrying moment. The finnish wind that tends to freeze your blood. Men, the guys from Quell The Skies are freaks.

To conclude, and it is hard to stop here, we have a really good piece here. Really original work of death metal mixed with elements from other styles. I don’t remember if they have a label but if they don’t I claim that it’s unfair because this band really deserves to gather interest. Taking the listener very far from boredom and monotony, the moment spent with them for these 3 tracks was for my brain as heavy as a good booze. Poor neck should I say...

Contact them:

www.myspace.com/quelltheskies  

Partager cet article
Repost0

commentaires